My Polarized Eraser


Goodbye to sleep,
Hello to darkness and thoughts that once were hiding
I think this staying up is exactly what I need
Although I may receive chiding
Well take apart your head
Undo all the dividing
Take apart the counting, and the flock it has bred
The realist is now presiding

Goodbye to love,
At least to your piddly definition
Well it’s a ride that’ll push you up
Into an uncomfortable position
Right against the wall
This is not my ambition
(Right against the wall)
With lips locked you taste emission
Chew it up and swallow it
Vomit that gum of your own volition

You’re brought back but you’re running
At least inside your head
I’ll find sleep in the end tonight
Vindication in my bed
I can’t shake this little feeling
The one that fills me with dread:
I’ll never get anything right
In my mind I’ve fled

Goodbye you liar,
Embrace what’s true
Well you sipped from the cup but you don’t own up to anything
Your judgement is long overdue
Then you think you will inspire
Yourself with images you view
Take apart your head
Pour out the witch’s brew
(and I wish I could inspire)
You to life that’s new
Take apart the demon, in the attic to the left.
He doesn’t belong with you

You’re brought back but you’re running
At least inside your head
I’ll find sleep in the end tonight
Vindication in my bed
I can’t shake this little feeling
The one that fills me with dread:
I’ll never say anything right
In my mind I’ve fled

I’m on my own, never say anything right
So again I take mental flight

Well take me, take me back to your bed
We’ll trade love for lust when the time is wrong
I love you so much that it hurts my head
Or maybe I’ve been playing too much beer pong
Say I don’t mind you under my skin
Say I don’t mind your breath that’s strong
I’ll let the bad parts in, the bad parts in
This is my theme song
When we were made we were set apart
Away from all the throng
Life is a test and I get bad marks
I wonder if I belong
Now some saint got the job of writing down my sins
A tedious task and lifelong
The storm is coming, the storm is coming in
So it’s time to get along

You’re brought back but you’re running
Away again in fear
I’ll find sleep in the end tonight
I wish that you were near
I can’t shake this little feeling
It’s the only one I hear:
I’ll never get anything right
And so I shed a tear

I’m on my own, never say anything right
Can someone show me the light?

Take me, take me back to your bed
Oh earth open up and then shut a-gain
I love you so much that it hurts my head
Please rid me of this migraine
I don’t mind you under my skin
I certainly can’t complain
I’ll let the bad parts in, the bad parts in
Until nothing will remain
Well you’re my favorite bird and when you sing
It’s like a high of cocaine
I really do wish that you’d wear my ring
Come and leave me slain
No matter what they say, I am still the king
Of all that was in vain
And now the storm is coming, the storm is coming in
And I can taste the rain

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fountains
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 03:00:21

    “With lips locked you taste emission, chew it up and swallow it, vomit that gum of your own volition” – I love how you integrated yours with theirs in that line.

    Reply

  2. devangini
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 08:07:43

    Its like sipping a cool drink on a really sunny day…that’s the pleasure of reading your poem! liked the choice of words!

    Reply

  3. cinnamon blues
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 17:56:46

    Really enjoyed reading your poem. The effect lingers and it is very evocative.
    Especially liked the lines
    ‘Now some saint got the job of writing down my sins
    A tedious task and lifelong’ :)

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Jul 21, 2011 @ 18:31:22

      Thank you so much! I really enjoyed creating a series of poems using lyrics from some songs off the album ‘The Devil and God are Raging Inside Me’ by Brand New. You can check out the rest in the Duet or Something Borrowed, Something New sections of my blog. I’m hoping to do some more poems using other songs, because this exercise was so fun, BUT at the same time I want to make sure I maintain my poetic integrity by doing completely original (ha, that’s pretty much impossible, but you get what I mean) poems.

      Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 468 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 26,262 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 468 other followers

