Ode to My Abode


My room
That claw that catches me, clutches me close
A jealous room.
I go in, to find a few things, and then leave
But I find that my room now distracts me, tempts me with many things to make me stay.
“You are tired”
He says
“Take a nap in your bed, your soft comfortable bed”
I dismiss this suggestion and keep searching for my gloves
“No, you won’t find those until you’ve done a few things for me”
He says
“Pick up your clothes, fold them and put them away”
I obey.
“Check your e-mail”
He entices
“Your friends may have something important to tell you.”
He uses the very people he despises to make me stay.
When I sit down at my computer, he suggests,
“The room is a bit warm, why don’t you take off your coat?”
Suddenly, the room starts to boil and I seem to vomit my coat off.
“How ’bout we listen to some music?”
Make This Go On Forever
starts playing.
“Now, write some poetry”
He says.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. zongrik
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 20:41:36

    makes me wonder if “he” is another side of the narrator, or “he” is a voice in the head from the past, or maybe, something totally different…

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 468 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 26,262 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 468 other followers

