The Flock


I’m feeling blue
Jay-walking is a sin
A cardinal affair
So so naughty

Distracted just a bit
Turn on the radio
Humming a song
As well as whistling

Duck! There’s an incoming kite
Out by the barn
Swallow my gum
Look at the Big Dipper
It’s like Orion’s been robbin’
The spare row of stars in the north

I’m left huffin and puffin
Why all the mocking?
Oh royal scorn, shades of red
Knots form in my stomach
Wolves ‘owl at the moon

I have to pay a fee
Be at the dock at sundown
I skip a swift skimmer of a rock
Waiting for you
To arrive
Waiting for you
To arrive

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lola
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 23:27:08

    This is so creative! I love it. I guess I’m a nerd at heart too!

    Reply

  2. Mike Patrick
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 12:07:14

    And slowly doth the time go by, until, at last, my love I spy.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: April 28 National Blog Tour: Bird Poems « wordcoaster

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 466 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 25,971 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 466 other followers

