Dandelion Rum


I tried to write the blue skies and the brown grass with my pen,
But the page was still so white and the picture still so thin.

I added lines like fire to catch the rays of sun,
The page a fearsome empire, and I a hired gun.

I poured on sand by force and I scribbled in the waves,
But the beach scene was too coarse and it smeared across the page–
If only I could catch it in a hatchet-bearing phrase:

The apple fell like Newton’s and it hit me on the head–
Summer is to Fall what pancakes are to bread.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sc0pic
    Apr 24, 2014 @ 18:32:05

    This is great!

    Reply

  2. C.C.
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 17:36:06

    The imagery in this is stunning. Very beautiful.

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 469 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 26,158 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 469 other followers

