Gone Fishing


Photo by James Veldhorst

I can be your invisible friend
And like a puppeteer you can pull my strings;
I’ll whisper sweet nothings in your ear
That you and no one else can hear,
But you’ll hear no other voice–
That choice was just made clear.

I’ll wear a straight jacket
So even you won’t know what’s up my sleeve,
Though it’s obviously not my heart;
I leave it out to rust,
As if dragged by limousine:
These cans all make a racket,
Wines pour freely to each glass,
The drunk starts getting crass–
Tear this rhyme apart
Like a scheme uncooked,
Rain it down on a happy pair:
She’s got him hooked
With her lines,
Now he’s sunk.
Look closely at the tinted window screen

Step back and ponder what you’ve seen:
Are they really carefree?
Or trapped in shadowed scheme?
It’s me that you can trust–
The end justifies the mean;
Weave a net and catch a dream.

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Miriam Sagan
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 21:35:03

    Fun use of ready mades and the proverbial!

    Reply

  2. Life: Between the lines
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 21:54:08

    first stanza had a nice pull! 🙂
    happy rally!!!
    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/12/15/nobody/

    Reply

  3. becca givens
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 01:34:28

    Weave a net and catch a dream

    Perfect ending of inspiration ~~

    Reply

  4. Hema
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 02:05:07

    Love the last two lines.
    well done 🙂

    Reply

  5. thingy
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 08:07:04

    This reminds me of Sting’s ‘I’ll be watching you.’ It has a tone of happy malice. : )

    Great piece.

    Reply

  6. pure2core
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 11:37:27

    Wow! as every one else I had to mention that the last line
    Weave the net and catch a dream…
    pleasing and wonderful poetry indeed..Thanks for share..

    Reply

  7. Morning
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 12:27:29

    love the theme of this piece.

    yes, the ending is perfect.

    Reply

  8. Kellie Elmore
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 16:09:11

    love itself is truly like fishing, i agree! nice pen here 🙂

    http://magicinthebackyard.wordpress.com/2011/12/15/on-the-dock-where-summer-lied/

    Reply

  9. muzzleflashing
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 20:11:00

    Cool. “a scheme uncooked” – great phrase! It’s been too long since I’ve perused your blog! Great writing! =)

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Dec 19, 2011 @ 12:21:53

      Thanks–I liked that phrase and the imagery it conjures in my mind. Glad you stopped by again; my visits to other blogs are often too few and far between. Over the Christmas break it looks like I won’t have convenient access to internet so I might not post for a while. (Oh well, perhaps some people can catch up 😛 )

      Reply

  10. Gwen Dubeau (@gpenman)
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 23:38:18

    Nice write, like these lines the most: “I’ll whisper sweet nothings in your ear
    That you and no one else can hear.” Nice job!

    Reply

  11. neha
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 02:40:17

    “weave a net and catch a dream”. Nice write 🙂

    Reply

  12. ZQ
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 13:00:41

    Awesome!

    Reply

  13. clariice
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 15:33:01

    Just changed my perspective of fishing. Always had this – old man sport in my head.
    You’ve just injected imagination into my mind:)

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 488 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,016 hits
