Handcuffs for Peter Pan


I’d arrest you if I had handcuffs
The same size as my own
I’d arrest you if I had the time
To take on all you postpone
I’d throw you down in the backseat
Of some old police car alone
As if you’d committed a terrible crime
You thought I hadn’t known
You thought I hadn’t known

I’d break in a town’s worth of houses
If I were your shadow, and was
And rob whole families blind
Then as a silent silhouette elude the fuzz
I’d do it to you like you’d do it to me
Because
If you knew you would get away fine
Faster than the monkey sees he does

I’d drown all these crying babies
With these black unfeeling gloves
If I knew that their mothers wouldn’t cry
Wouldn’t lament the loss of their loves
I’d hold them down and I’d squeeze real soft
As a tiny hand vainly shoves
And let a piece of myself die
Shrewd as serpents innocent as doves

It’s hard to be the better man
When a good man’s hard to find
When you forget you’re trying
When both your eyes are blind
It’s hard to be the better man

I’d arrest you if I had handcuffs
The same size as my own
I’d arrest you if I had the time
To take on all you postpone
I’d wait for you outside the courtroom
When your thoughts are most unknown
And taunt you when all your appeals were declined
When you’ve been thrown from your throne

I’d drive my car off of a bridge
To fly to the murky depths below
If I knew that you weren’t inside
Death to the friend, life to the foe
With the pedal to the floor, who could ask for a more
Fantastic way to go
Fantastic way to kill some time
And time’s something I owe

You could lay on your back and be beaten
Murder, he wrote
You could put up your fists and fight
Murder, he wrote
You could try and be way off
Hide away somewhere remote
Somewhere very very remote

It’s hard to be the better man
When a good man’s hard to find
When you forget you’re trying
When both your eyes are blind
It’s hard to be the better man
When you’re still lying
You’re still lying

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,716 hits
