The Routine


Photo by Claire Anthony

In the kitchen
We all pitch in
Only if I tell you to

Wash the dishes
“Smells delicious!”
Did I say that you could try that?

Set the table
As we’re able
The fork goes on the left…

In the garden
Bring Swiss chard in
Only pick the leaves.

Pickin’ veggies
Pickin’ wedgies
Stop that! ┬áThat’s disgusting!

Call together
Birds of feather
Dinner’s ready, everyone!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy Eksuzian
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 06:40:16

    Your dinner routine is “sweet!” Great poem!

    Reply

  2. danroberson
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 09:27:05

    This poem has a nice rhythm to it. From the garden to the kitchen, there are helping hands. I love all the togetherness.

    Reply

  3. wordcoaster
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 12:30:13

    ‘m so glad you both liked it–yes the togetherness is something I love and cherish about my family.

    Reply

  4. Okelle
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 11:59:08

    I love the contrast between the neat couplets and the italicized bits of dialogue.

    Have you considered playing with the line spacing? Hitting SHIFT + ENTER will give you a (single space break) instead of a (double-space — paragraph break).

    Reply

  5. Okelle
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 12:00:34

    Oh, and I have to know: was this poem also a duet? Or does the duet refer to the lovely photo of bleeding hearts only? It’s one of my favorite plants. And while it’s not explicitly tied to the poem, it’s a shade plant that does well in domestic spaces — which reminds me of the dinner routine.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Jun 23, 2011 @ 12:21:48

      Thank you! I haven’t done much fiddling around with line spacing. I’ll have to try that on my next poem, so it’s great that you pointed that out! This poem is a duet–the couplets are the child’s voice, and the italicized words are the parent’s. I also love bleeding hearts–love the connection you made between the poem and the picture. I always try to have some sort of subtle (or sometimes not so subtle) link between the two.

      Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 488 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,022 hits
