Tolls For Thee


Bells are ringing
Eyes blink open
Monastery thoughts shout loud
In the silence
Now unbroken
By devotion of the vowed

Dear beloved
I beseech thee
Draw me closer to thy side
Cleave the heart
From all self-pity
Take me now to be your bride

Kneeling knees
Give way to walking
As my duties are fulfilled
Though Iโ€™m never
Finished talking
With the one who my fears stilled

Here I pass
Another brother
Stead’ly moving down pathway
Saying nothing
To each other
Telepathic empathy

Through these hands
Labor accustomed
Years of hard workโ€™s pages slipped
Finally finished
Remove dust and
Bind illumined manuscript

Quivโ€™ring fingers
Touch the pages
Product of a life well spent
Words of light
In the dark ages
Sigh a smile, rest content

Ears are ringing
With the pealing
As the evening bells implored
Call me homeward
Body reeling
Soul flies on to meet my lord

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jingle
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 12:31:23

    lovely.
    your words sing.
    cheers.

    Happy Potluck!

    Reply

  2. Fountains
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 12:41:38

    First three stanzas left me kind of speechless. A bit blown away with the ease of the rhyming. I love the idea of an entire lifetime being devoted to an illuminated manuscript, and “evening bells” is such a poetic way to say the end of someone’s life. Only thing is, I feel like the end comes abruptly somehow. The last stanza felt like it came too soon, and I can’t put my finger on it. Maybe I wanted to hear how satisfied the monk was with his life of devotion, instead of it reading like an obligation?

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Jun 27, 2011 @ 15:07:11

      Hmm, good thoughts! I did feel there was something more that could be said, but I couldn’t figure out exactly what was needed. I think I’ll probably try to edit it in the near-future (when I’m less busy with my own obligations)

      Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Mar 17, 2012 @ 15:56:11

      As long-promised, I added a stanza and tightened it up a bit. Thanks so much for your critique–it helped me to grow greatly! Constructive criticism is the best ๐Ÿ˜€

      Reply

  3. luna15
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 12:59:02

    wow. this is fantastic. “Soul flies on to meet my lord” love the image

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Jun 27, 2011 @ 15:12:22

      Thank you! I love the image as well–I think I’ve used something very similar in another poem (not yet posted). It’s just a strong phrase combining the spiritual depth of soul with the height of flight in juxtaposition with the meeting face to face of the master of the universe. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

  4. Hema
    Jun 28, 2011 @ 08:52:48

    That was soulful poetry. Love the last line!

    Reply

  5. Mike Patrick
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 18:24:21

    What a poem this would be in constant meter. What a bear of a job it would be to get it there.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Jul 27, 2011 @ 22:22:02

      Some people are tone deaf (I might be one of these people) and others are metrically deaf (I am most likely also one of these people) How do you learn sound meter? I cannot remember what poem this is an imitation of, but I matched the rhyme scheme and syllable count but I guess I failed utterly in the meter department :/

      Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Mar 17, 2012 @ 15:57:26

      Well, I edited this poem; I think it’s pretty consistently trochaic here, though I reserved the right to tamper with the form a bit ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,205 hits
