Judas Christ


Jesus Christ, that’s a pretty face
A face that makes you reminisce
The kind you’d find on someone that could save
Would you mind if I gave it a kiss?
If they don’t put me away
For betraying you like this
It’ll be a miracle
From the black abyss

Do you believe you’re missing out?
On all authority and splendor
That everything good is happening somewhere else
Yet you remain a contender
But with nobody in your bed
No one of the female gender
The night is hard to get through
You might as well surrender

And I will die all alone
Hanging from this tree
And when I arrive I won’t know anyone
Not even Jesus from Galilee

Well, Jesus Christ, I’m alone again
With my regrets present and past
So what did you do those three days you were dead?
Did they pass slow or fast?
Because this problem’s gonna last
And last and last
More than the weekend
This blackness is so vast

Well, Jesus Christ I’m not scared to die
At least that’s what I’ve thought
I’m a little bit scared of what comes after
As I probably ought
Do I get the gold chariot
Or even a wooden chariot
Do I float through the ceiling
What will be my lot?

Do I divide and fall apart
As chaff in the wind
‘Cause my bright is too slight to hold back all my dark
Father I have sinned
This ship went down in sight of land
Oh how I feel chagrined
And at the gates does Thomas ask to see my hands?
With no stamp there will he to hell me send?

I know you’ll come in the night like a thief
Though you’re no thief like me
But I’ve had some time alone to hone my lying technique
I could get off on an insanity plea
I know you think that I’m someone you can trust
I’m not sure I agree
But I’m scared I’ll get scared and I swear I’ll try to nail you back up
To that accursed tree
So do you think that we could work out a sign
Of mutual familiarity
So I’ll know it’s you and that it’s over so I won’t even try
I’ll have new clarity

I know you’ll come for the people like me
To seek and save that which was lost
But we all got wood and nails,
We’re covered in permanent frost,
And we turn out hate in factories

But we all got wood and nails,
And a limited supply of gall;
And we turn out hate in factories:
One size fits all

Yeah we all got wood and nails
Each of us armed to the teeth
And we sleep inside of this machine:
Saber without a sheath

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fountains
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 11:03:16

    Wordcoaster, Wordcoaster, where have you been?! I have grown quite fond of the way you think so deeply about a subject and can convey the stream of consciousness that follows. Questioning seems to be a theme for you. Don’t ever lose that curiosity, that inquiry.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Jul 01, 2011 @ 12:04:58

      I’ve been anywhere, everywhere and nowhere I suppose. Don’t worry, unless I turn into a cat, I won’t lose my curiosity. πŸ˜› I can’t take credit for half of this, though. I took the lyrics to Brand New’s “Jesus Christ” and interspersed my own in-between. So it’s a collaboration–not all original. See “Something Borrowed, Something New” for more examples.

      Reply

      • Fountains
        Jul 01, 2011 @ 16:37:36

        Curiosity may have killed the cat, but satisfaction brought him back, right? I actually have the album that has this song, though it’s been a while and I didn’t recognize it. I very much like the idea of your “something borrowed, something new” category and wanted to say so. Might like to try this idea out myself sometime.

        Reply

        • wordcoaster
          Jul 01, 2011 @ 16:50:49

          Wow, can’t believe I hadn’t heard that saying before–interesting! You should definitely try it; it’s very …hmm…well, you’ll see–I enjoy it. It’s fun to either agree or disagree with the lyricist.

          Reply

  2. Genebrother
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 15:07:56

    Wordcoaster
    You put a human face on Christ and although he is, (I am that I am)
    you have related the present mortal in us all to a time before the cross, and after.
    Our modern day Thomasa’s are always asking to see the wounds and hopefully our pass to our everlasting rest will be a unknown simplicity.
    “Saber without sheath” The earthly battles are 24×7
    I enjoyed this
    Genebrother

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Jul 01, 2011 @ 15:20:43

      Genebrother,
      Thanks for your input–glad that you were able to enjoy this. You are so right–we face trials and temptations all the time, but it’s great that we also have our Champion with us at all times.

      Reply

  3. Ravenblack
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 18:59:14

    I’m thinking, is there any hope for us? πŸ™‚ Enjoyed it because it covers so much of one’s doubt of oneself ever being saved. I find it hard to believe I’ll ever get into paradise, judging by the requirements I see in the good book. The offer from the Lord is easy one though, but I’m not, that’s why I don’t believe it perhaps. This poem definitely connected with me, thank you.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Jul 01, 2011 @ 19:13:25

      Oh, but there is hope for us! That’s what’s so amazing–even though I am a huge doubter and even bigger sinner Christ’s mercy and forgiveness overshadow all of that. (1 Timothy 1:15-17 are a few of my favorite verses) I don’t mean to start a huge philosophical discussion, but I am curious as to what requirements you see. Glad this poem connected with you, and thanks for commenting; I really appreciate it!

      Reply

  4. Pat Cegan
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 04:23:32

    Intriguing subject for your poem. I especially like:
    But we all got wood and nails,
    And a limited supply of gall;
    And we turn out hate in factories:
    One size fits all

    Hate is often fear and can be transmuted by Love…one size fits all.

    Thanks this thought provoking write! hugs, pat

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Jul 02, 2011 @ 07:13:35

      Hate is often fear…how true, and it’s wonderful to see hate erode and love fill the gaps. Thanks for your feedback–it’s much appreciated πŸ™‚

      Reply

  5. Mike Patrick
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 18:35:35

    This is poetry that evokes a response. All poetry should evoke a response. Here endeth the lesson.

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,205 hits
