La Chaim


Depression on a mountaintop
An oxymoron to most
But the highest of highs is the lowest of low’s
Most courteous, gracious host

But sometimes when the breath of God
This pneuma spirit-wind
Blows deep into me the breath of life,
On which I can depend

This energy flows through me
And life is all restored
I see at once the sunset
And the beauty God’s outpoured

I fly across the chapel lawn
I fly across with glee
I shout to the heavens in loudest tones
And everyone turns to see

I do not care if they will stare
My zeal it knows no bounds
I’m free at last from death’s dark curse
And from the devil’s hounds

Will you join me in this reverent dance
And two of us rejoice?
Will you disregard our critical peers
And raise with me your voice?

Then we shall soar upon the clouds
And worship as a pair
But, lo, what’s this? There’s others here?
Who meet us in the air?

And now we join this flying crowd
And all with one accord
Gaze on with wonder as clouds peel back
And fly to meet our Lord

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fountains
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 10:48:50

    “My zeal it knows no bounds” – was this a play on words for “zealot”? “Highest of highs is the lowest of lows” is absolutely so true. Your poetry is so different from what I write – you have a talent for creating brighter moods.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Jul 04, 2011 @ 21:16:39

      It actually wasn’t, although I can see how that could be taken that way 😉 I do have some darker stuff too, but I try to keep my stuff light-hearted. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Jingle Poetry
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 23:25:23

    profound.

    Reply

  3. Mike Patrick
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 18:44:35

    What? This is mostly written in iambic meter. Where did that come from. I like it. Other than the first stanza, there were only a few hiccups in the meter. You are growing, grasshopper.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Jul 27, 2011 @ 22:44:32

      Ha, I would have had no idea if you hadn’t pointed it out. I’m literally clueless in this area, poetry Jedi master Mike. But, if I’m right (big if), then this stanza is completely correct:
      Then we shall soar upon the clouds
      And worship as a pair
      But, lo, what’s this? There’s others here?
      Who meet us in the air?

      Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,548 hits
