Laughing Analyst


I know so much about you
Although we haven’t met
These facts deemed to be true
Haven’t failed me yet

I give you just one glance
(Or maybe a good long stare)
Examine your posture, your stance
Your expression and what you wear

Some people leap to stereotypical labels
I don’t jump that far
That’s risking facts for fables
Better to stay where you are

And distill these snapshots
Through the frames in your brain
To end up in one of two spots
Do I like them or show slight disdain?

No love or hate
No, those are too extreme
Instead I’ll wait
In the middle of the balance beam

And place them on my left or right
Precarious positions
Easily knocked off
By presuppositions

I bar those from my mind
Pride and Prejudice have no place here
Analyze– pause –rewind
Make more calculations than an engineer

Of course these judgements are biased
I’d be more afraid if they weren’t
The validity may not be highest
But I trust what I’ve learnt

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mindlovemisery
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 05:41:38

    Very smooth rhyming and well-written intelligent poem

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 488 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,022 hits
