Click-clack Backtrack


Blending moments seamlessly
Today was tinged with memory
A restless sort of revelry
Life’s got a hold of me

Careful steps on railroad-ties
Filtered light, distracted eyes
Met with slippery frog surprise
Life’s got a hold of me

Enter tunnel where light descends
Swirling blackness never ends
Ghostly presence, silhouette friends
Life’s got a hold of me

Back out blackout turns to white
Feel Damascus-like spotlight
Invisible geese announce their flight
Life’s got a hold of me

Float through twilight humidity
Headlights illuminate fir tree
Flickering reality
Life’s got a hold of me

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dani
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 23:59:43

    love the repetition of “Life’s got a hold of me” and especially like the beginning ~

    “Blending moments seamlessly
    Today was tinged with memory”

    great poem!

    Reply

  2. Harry Nicholson
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 15:22:36

    This has strong rhythm – it would do well as a performance piece, perhaps with some percussion . . .
    Good.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Jul 28, 2011 @ 16:21:08

      Wow, thank you for the high compliment–I have almost no experience performing poems but I’m glad you think this one could be performed. Never thought of adding percussion, but of course what better accompaniment to a poem? Thanks again 🙂

      Reply

  3. Meg Brauckmann
    Aug 21, 2011 @ 18:52:02

    Ohh! I wanted to capture this day and you did so perfectly– especially the two stanzas of the tunnel. “Back out blackout turns to white” that is brilliant(ly full of the feeling.)

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Aug 21, 2011 @ 19:11:04

      Thanks! It was such a wonderful walk so i hoped I could do it some semblance of justice. Also, I realized I spelled your name wrong. Ooops 😛 I’ve fixed it now.

      Reply

  4. viewingcamelot
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:46:00

    David, you have a gift.

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 488 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,022 hits
