The Archer’s Bows are Not Broken


Who do you carry that torch for, my young man?
I carry it for the One who calls me son

Do you believe in anything?
I believe and trust in Jesus and all the things He’s done

Do you carry it around just to burn things down?
No, I carry it to bring light to where there’s none

Meet me tonight on the turnpike, my darling
Let’s meet at Starbucks instead

‘Cause we believe in everything
No, certainly not everything, and less than half of what I’ve read

If we sweat all these debts then we’re sure to drown
Not if you know how to tread

So let’s strap ourselves up to this engine now
Do you realize what you’ve just said?

With our God who we found laying under the back seat
I thought I left my Bible under my bed!

What did you learn tonight?
That you might commit suicide

You’re shouting so loud, you barely enjoyed this broken thing.
You speak of killing yourself with pride!

You’re a voice that never sings, is what I say
Well then I say that you’ve lied

You are freezing over hell
Oh really, have you died?

You are bringing on the end, you do so well
You’ll never take my side

You can only blame yourself, it’s what I say
That used to only be implied

Oh, order your daughters to ignore me think that will sort me?
What, first death, now divorce?

And sweep me under the rug
I beg to know your outburst’s source

While you’re beating with a book everyone that book tells you to love
Why do you think me so coarse?

There is an ember in the heart of the kiln
Is this conversation a joke?

And it’s burning hot with love
Your speech has turned baroque

Burning out my center ‘til there’s nothing but dust
Have I somehow your heart broke?

Rolling me with care into your cigarette
I don’t even smoke!

‘Cause the God I believe in worked on a campaign trail
Don’t worship James Polk

What did you learn tonight?
A whole lot of nothing

You’re shouting so loud, you barely enjoyed this broken thing.
And now you’re repeating

You’re a voice that never sings, is what I say
You want me to sing, I’ll sing!

You are freezing over hell
Should I take off this ring?

You are bringing on the end, you do so well
Explain yourself; I’m the bird, you’re the bee sting

You can only blame yourself, it’s what I say
I say you have a habit of lying

Who do you carry that torch for, my young man?
I carry it for the One who calls me son

Do you believe in anything?
I believe and trust in Jesus and all the things He’s done

Do you carry it around just to burn things to the ground?
No, I carry it to bring light to where there’s none

What did you learn tonight?
I learned you need the light

You’re shouting so loud, you barely enjoyed this broken thing.
Your blind eyes need new sight

You’re a voice that never sings, is what I say
Your deaf ears will soon hear more than noise that’s white

You are freezing over hell
I’d say it’s deserving of its plight

You are bringing on the end, you do so well
Finally you’ve gotten something right

You can only blame yourself, it’s what I say
Don’t say words just to incite

Feels like we could escape
You can, you still have time

and I don’t mind throwing away this filthy silver song
You’re right, it’s filled with grime

If you try running a maze of your lies
You feel like a trapped mime

It’s too hard to save if you’ve thrown out everyone
Then call on the Savior sublime!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ~L
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 16:32:22

    depth and emotions flowing from me after this read. This was a beautiful piece!
    ~L

    Reply

  2. wordcoaster
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 16:56:49

    Thank you! It was written as a response to a Brand New song called The Archer’s Bows are Broken. I found the song intriguing and I wrote a few other poems dialoguing with some of the other songs on the album. So glad you enjoyed it 🙂

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,196 hits
