The Pithy Pendulum


“Your honor, may I present the evidence against this man?”
He presents her photo album, the 4,000 words blaspheming my name.
“There’s an angel in this court”
I repeat optimistically for the 170th time
“Please keep your hands down and stop raising your voice”
The judge bangs his gavel
Law 108: How to be dead.

The pendulum falls
My hands clasp tightly whatever they can grasp
My body flies upwards towards the sky
My head is nowhere to be seen

The pendulum falls
My body descends like a pinecone dropped from a pine tree
I always knew I’d leave this earth without my shoes on.
It’s my 106th sense.
No more time in the clubhouse

The pendulum falls
A tree sprouts from my body and now leaves are my hair
Yet I remain rootless
As spikes fall from above and children’s laughter is left ringing in the air

The pendulum stops and I let out 139 sighs of relief.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Life: Between the lines
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 21:35:53

    pics look fun, the write did have a feeling of weightlessness that your picture sorta totally showed as well πŸ™‚
    enjoy gooseberry day!
    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/12/11/his-demon-my-shadow-treason-adults-only-please/

    Reply

  2. charlesmashburn
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 22:19:03

    Very interesting and entertaining piece. I think I need a calculator…
    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/12/11/mostly-about-the-past/

    Reply

  3. zongrik
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 22:44:49

    for some reason this make me think of the movie “Donnie Darko” just gave me the same feeling

    http://zongrik.wordpress.com/2011/08/27/shipwreck/

    Reply

  4. Morning
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 23:14:35

    incredible.

    thanks for the tickling, Happy Poetry Picnic.

    Reply

  5. Natalie
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 12:26:46

    amazing humor and talented write.

    πŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. Jingle Poetry
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 00:30:15

    fabulous piece…smiles.
    Greetings:
    Hope that you have had a great Merry Christmas.
    Happy New Year.
    Share a piece of your poetry today at our poetry party today, 1 to 3 random poems are welcome in general, old ones are okay.
    hope to see you in.
    Have fun!
    Sending you love and blessings.
    Cheers.
    xoxox

    best regards hope all is well.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Dec 27, 2011 @ 15:38:55

      Thanks! If my internet finally gets up and running again (two weeks of Amish paradise so far) then I will be back to my post-a-day schedule. In any case, It’ll be another two weeks at the MAX that I’ll be without internet access–I hope I can last that long πŸ™‚

      Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,205 hits
