Fickle Physics


How fickle are the physics
That direct the human heart
At times converging two together
Sometimes drawing them apart
Sending one careening toward the sun
And the other crashing to the earth
Yet the curvature of the solar system
Has strange effects on these comets
These burning souls composed of frozen dust
Who spend their lives running from their tails
The forces propelled me far from you
They flung me into space
As I hurtled away, I felt everything for you
But the curve it flipped my feelings
Now there’s nothing in its place
Am I still your friend?
Of this I am not sure
I’m blinded by the solar flares
Now everything’s a blur
You who were once so close to me
Now live across the galaxy

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. debi
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 11:05:19

    I like this. I like the whole physics concept, and the words, “Who spend their lives running from their tails” is perfect – love the visual.
    I understand the sadness of the parting of ways, but I enjoyed the poem so much I didn’t sink into a funk.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Aug 29, 2011 @ 16:40:42

      Thank you so much for your delightfully detailed comment–so glad you remain impervious. Funks are no fun, even though they’re spelled that way πŸ™‚

      Reply

  2. bendedspoon
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 13:11:39

    the matter and motions in here are interesting. if gravity pulls, the heart can do much more — can pull and push πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Aug 29, 2011 @ 16:47:21

      ‘Tis true–for every action the heart has an equal and opposite reaction up its proverbial sleeve (we talk about wearing your heart on your sleeve, so why can’t a heart wear sleeves?) Motions and emotions are an interesting combination. πŸ™‚

      Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,548 hits
