Get Behind Me


You can’t touch me
And you never will–
Your lecherous hands weren’t made for climbing;
I stand on Zion’s hill.

You claw the cliff face, cursing
That there’s no footholds there;
They’ve been freshly erased:
God wanted the fight to be fair.

You sing out in seductive tones
How I should hang-glide off the cliff side,
But your words have lost their meaning.
I kick some pebbles down and watch you backward slide.

You might as well leave–
Seek out easier prey,
For I’m living more vicariously
Each and every day.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura Maria
    Mar 18, 2012 @ 20:29:21

    When we make Jesus Lord of our lives and submit to Him we have secured the victory. He never loses a battle!! Great piece 🙂

    Reply

  2. booguloo
    Mar 18, 2012 @ 22:39:52

    I’m envious of your ability to put together a piece like this.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Mar 18, 2012 @ 23:20:05

      Thank you! I’m always a bit more hesitant to share religious poems because they’re usually more personal. I’m sure you could put together a much better poem, just be honest 🙂

      Reply

  3. PoppySilver
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 11:09:49

    I think its courageous to write such a piece, very well delivered 🙂

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Mar 19, 2012 @ 16:25:20

      Thank you! Writing this helped me to fully realize the truths that I had stored in the back of my mind; it made things more concrete. Sharing it was more difficult, so thank you again for your warm encouragement 🙂

      Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 488 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,016 hits
