In the Secret Garden


How did I end up with the key
The only way to gain entry
Did I find it in the sands
How it fell into my hands
Will still remain a mystery

And how should it come free
I expected at least a small fee
To enter these lands
In the secret garden

Even in my insanity
When all around became hazy
When my body failed my mind’s commands
Still with me he stands
Under the shade of swaying tree
In the secret garden

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ermilia
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 16:09:08

    Have you read “The Secret Garden” by Frances Hodgson Burnett? It’s one of my favorite books and I was wondering if it was your inspiration given the title.
    -Elia

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Sep 05, 2011 @ 17:08:38

      I have, though it was incredibly long ago so I don’t remember it that well. (I don’t remember much that I read, unfortunately. I just remember my feelings on the book. So I remember liking the book a lot, I just don’t remember much of the plot.) I think everything we write is a compilation of our experiences and our own insights. I will go ahead and add Frances as a tag, as anytime I make a conscious reference to an author I cite them.
      I love the concept of a secret garden, though this was actually a metaphor about a friend I have who is a wonderful introvert. Not too many people know and appreciate him, so I felt privileged to be his friend. What is another of your favorite books? Perhaps I could try to write a poem based on that 🙂

      Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,205 hits
