Katrina


My efforts weren’t enough
I should have asked for help
How could I possibly have thought
I could bolster this myself?

The levees have broken
The flood rushes in
A raw emotion ocean
Trades tragedy for sin

The looting’s sure to follow
And next the rioting
And yet I have this calmness
An eerie quieting

The rebuilding must be coming
The teams are on their way
Construction, cleaning, restoring
Shall all happen in a day

Yet my fear is for the future
When all is fine again
Will we learn from our mistakes
And turn from youths to men?

The wise thing would be to move away
We shouldn’t stick around
In our old ways, old habits, old places:
This bowl dug in the ground

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. charlesmashburn
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 06:56:18

    The last sstanza is the thought that constantly comes to my mind. We’re like ants after a big foot stomps our hill. Scurrying about putting things back together, unaware we’re on a well-used foot path. Nice writing, David!

    My latest entry: http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/09/07/cannonball-3/

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Sep 08, 2011 @ 11:45:51

      Thanks–a well-put metaphor. The major assumption in “You live and learn” is that you’re still alive to learn. Sometimes you need to learn to live 🙂 Enjoyed your poem–always was a splashful child–though my scrawny frame didn’t make for the best cannonballs. In my imagination, though… 😉

      Reply

  2. wind
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 09:11:32

    Wonderful words!
    My best regards from Romania!

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,196 hits
