Nosy Neighbour


Tap on the window
Bang on the door
Back to the glass
To look in once more

“You know you can’t fool me
I know you’re in there
The question is where–
Somewhere I can’t see”

Open the window
Peek on inside
Right under the sill?
Not the best place to hide

“You’re home!” I roar
“Mind if I just climb inside for a minute?”
No time to protest for I’m already in it!
“Mind if I take a quick tour?”

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laurie Kolp
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 22:20:30

    Cute piece, precious dog.

    Reply

  2. John Greenwood
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 22:50:13

    Very dearly enjoyed the first four lines! Went back and forth for awhile…

    Reply

  3. Mike Patrick
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 01:08:37

    I thoroughly enjoyed this. That is a neighbor with some courage. At my house, they would be greeted by a Weimaraner and a Doberman—not a pretty sight.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Sep 09, 2011 @ 01:12:46

      Thanks! My experience has been that dogs like the very people you want them to hate, so they might actually like this nosy nuisance. Nosy people usually love dogs, though, so perhaps you could distract them with the dogs long enough to leave. 🙂

      Reply

  4. Old Ollie
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 08:08:30

    we have the same neighbours…

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Sep 09, 2011 @ 09:27:18

      That’s funny, I don’t think I’ve seen you around the neighborhood. Of course, when I go out I use a series of hand-dug tunnels to reach the extraction point. And I’m living without electricity or running water and I hold to a strict code of silence. So far my neighbor’s none the wiser 🙂

      Reply

  5. Mary
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 07:45:04

    Ah, the last stanza made me smile. Interesting neighborhood and window view!

    Reply

  6. Christopher Franko
    Nov 05, 2011 @ 23:02:37

    runnnn for ya liiife ^_^

    Reply

  7. The Cello Strings
    Nov 06, 2011 @ 16:27:42

    love the playfulness on it.
    well done.

    🙂

    Reply

  8. Helen
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 05:17:18

    Beware of the dog indeed! Too cute to be wary of, come on in!!!

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,716 hits
