All’s Fair


Wring impossible
Affection bleeds loud laughter
Ripples of the heart

For  http://haiku-heights.blogspot.com/

Special thanks to Norma Martiri (Poetry & Icecream) for nominating me for The Versatile Blogger Award.  You have been a special blessing, full of encouragement and support.  I can’t thank you enough.  Everyone needs to check out her blog, for not only is she a kind and encouraging person, but a wonderfully talented poet as well.  Poke around her site, I’m sure you’ll find something you like:  http://normamartiri.wordpress.com/2011/05/14/broad-beans/

Update: I was nominated again by the lovely seabell (TALES FROM THE SEA).  She certainly has a diverse blog, with many unique categories reaching far beyond my narrow focus of poetry.  But she incorporates that as well, as you can see here: http://seabell.wordpress.com/2011/10/03/affair/

These are the rules you must follow once you have accepted the award:

  1. Thank the person who gave you this award and link back to his/her blog.
  2. Next nominate 15 bloggers for this award and notify them about the nomination.
  3. Finally, tell readers seven things about yourself.

Update: I’ve chosen to highlight some different posts from the same 15 I chose before, as each of these 15 bloggers have lots to offer.  Their posts are diverse and inspiring.  In no particular order :

1. Rough Water John
2.  Dennis Lange (The Bard on the Hill)
3.  muzzleflashing
4.  Charles Mashburn (Marbles in my pocket)
5. William Leed (talking leaves)
6.  Nettleton Journal (danielnettleton)
7.  Modern rage
8.  Stray Lower (Where Pleasant Fountains Lie)
9.  Chevve
10.  Johnlmalone
11.  The Noiseless Cuckooclock
12.  Life In Verse
13.  Magical Mystical Teacher
14. Lexidelphia (sanmartincafe)
15.  duncancleary

Seven things about me:

1.  I love ice cream and cereal. (Foods eaten in a bowl are superior to those eaten on a plate)
2.  I have a bad habit of getting stuck in odd places.
3.  I don’t watch TV much, so I’m not very versed in pop culture.
4.  I love roller coasters.  Hence the moniker.
5.  I love To Kill a Mockingbird.
6.  I strongly dislike Catcher in the Rye.
7.  I dislike talking about myself.

Seven more things about me:

8.  I like to drink tea, but only caffeine free
9.  Given the choice between the two of you, I’d take the seasick crocodile.
10.  I am not a morning person by choice
11.  All of my outfits cost less than fifteen dollars
12.  I have a receding hairline
13. I want to learn Dzonkha, simply because it would make me incredibly happy to speak a language called Dzonkhan.
14.  che namay samay jarim dhu

Thanks to all.

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andy Sewina
    Oct 09, 2011 @ 19:21:18

    Laughter is the key! Have fun!!

    Reply

  2. Poetry & Icecream
    Oct 09, 2011 @ 22:43:18

    Awe thanks so much David. I’m touched and you have certainly made my day. I love the 7 things about you (my favourite book is To Kill a Mockingbird too and I also dislike Catcher in the Rye!!! I started reading it but just couldn’t get into it.) You’re a wonderfully talented poet David and I love reading your work 🙂

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Oct 09, 2011 @ 23:52:19

      Thanks! 😀 Hooray– To Kill a Mockingbird is so wonderful, it’s hard to believe there are people out there who dislike it. For me, I read Catcher in the Rye (all the way through–consider yourself lucky you stopped :P), but I didn’t see why it had attained classic status. I’m disappointed because it seems to be the driving force behind modern literature, the foundation upon which they’re based. Thanks again!

      Reply

  3. Fountains
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 00:00:09

    Catcher in the Rye is my favorite book of all time! Apart from Alice in Wonderland, that is. To Kill a Mockingbird is what made my mother pack up the family and move us from Boston, MA to Savannah, GA. 😛 Thanks for the mention, lovely! I nominated you a couple weeks ago, too, but I think I failed to alert the nominees when I posted. :/ I’ve never figured out how to pingback…

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Oct 10, 2011 @ 00:07:10

      I’m definitely in the minority when it comes to that opinion. Ah well, I stand by my convictions–subjective as they are. Alice in Wonderland is an undeniable classic, but it didn’t play a defining role on my list 😉 You’re quite welcome, and thank you for the nomination–if I had been avidly reading your blog as I used to, I would no doubt have found it. They’ve shuffled things around quite a bit, so I’m not sure if I get notifications for pingbacks. You probably did it properly and I just failed to receive it 🙂

      Reply

  4. Nanka
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 07:41:53

    Laughter is the best medicine to keep the heart young and healthy!! 🙂
    Cheers!!

    Reply

  5. johnlmalone
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 15:58:47

    I must say I’m thrilled to even be considered. However I don’t really follow many poetry blogs — yours is one of two — so I really would have trouble nominating 5 let alone 15! however your list looks intersting so I’ll give each of your 15 nominees a look-in and who knows I might get some extra traffic from this

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Oct 10, 2011 @ 17:22:21

      Wow, I feel very privileged! There are certainly many poet-bloggers out there with more talent in their pinkies than I have in my whole body. Of course there’s a lot on the other end of the spectrum. I hope that you will look into these bloggers and that others will discover your wonderful blog. 🙂

      Reply

  6. Amity
    Oct 11, 2011 @ 03:42:42

    Laughter heals…
    Laughter is an antidote…
    Laughter is therapeutic…

    Reply

  7. ruchi jain
    Oct 11, 2011 @ 09:44:03

    Laughter makes life livable., so after reading my comment, please have a smile…:)

    Reply

  8. The Gooseberry Garden
    Oct 11, 2011 @ 12:23:56

    well deserved award.

    Reply

  9. The Gooseberry Garden
    Oct 11, 2011 @ 12:24:34

    do share if you did not come to poetry picnic yet.

    🙂

    Reply

  10. Write Girl
    Oct 11, 2011 @ 21:40:24

    Lovely haiku and congrats on the award. “Affection bleeds loud laughter” is a great line.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Oct 11, 2011 @ 22:29:12

      Thanks so much! If I laugh around someone it means I like them (platonically or romantically) and usually the intensity of affection is measurable by the volume 🙂

      Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,690 hits
