Father to Son


Photo by Sweetestsin2862

So this is life, this is the cycle, this is the cycle of life.
Grandfather to father to son to grandson
Can you hear?
Do you know my thoughts?
I was once you, with father hovering over me
Hopes
Futures shared
Past forgotten
You’ll never know my grandfather; I’ll never know your grandson
But the cycle, the life cycle goes on
So sleep and I will watch
I will watch over you closely
Like a figure ghostly
Father figure mostly
Not father of the year
Just another father here
Hearing you sleep
Sleeping son
Sleeps on
So this is life, this is the cycle, this is the cycle of life

For http://bluebellbooks.blogspot.com/2011/10/short-story-slam-week-12.html

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth Hernandez
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 19:25:08

    That is so beautiful! I love how you worked even the grandfathers into the story line of the poetry.
    Blessings

    Reply

  2. The Cello Strings
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 22:28:10

    love it,

    love passed from one generation to another, divine sentiments shared.

    🙂

    Reply

  3. Poetry & Icecream
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 07:58:10

    This is beautifully written, wow! I love this line “You’ll never know my grandfather; I’ll never know your grandson”, I never thought of that before. A poignant piece 🙂

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Oct 19, 2011 @ 22:11:28

      Thanks! Time can be a trap, like amber holding you within its sticky grasp, but we have to learn to live within our limitations and even enjoy them 🙂

      Reply

  4. Sarah Johnston
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 16:21:25

    such a heart filled warm and loving poem of a love from or seen by a father so well done your blog is amazing and I love to come here and read it
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/10/17/to-my-son/#comment-1854

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Oct 19, 2011 @ 22:51:06

      Aw, thank you so much–your encouragements warm my heart 😀 Our poems are interesting complements to each other. I enjoyed your take very much 🙂

      Reply

  5. keiths ramblings
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 19:24:08

    What a delightful piece. I loved ‘Not father of the year, just another father here’. That’s all you need to be.

    Reply

  6. charlesmashburn
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 21:18:40

    Love this. And, yes, grandfathers are a very big part of our lives–mine for sure.
    Nice one!

    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/10/19/perfect-love/

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Oct 19, 2011 @ 22:15:28

      Thanks! Grandfathers shape us in more ways than one–directly and indirectly. I’m thankful for grandfathers that raised my wonderful parents to be largely the way they are now 🙂

      Reply

  7. Guilie
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 19:56:42

    Great stuff. Flows with purpose and meaning.

    Reply

  8. The Noiseless Cuckooclock
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 12:48:55

    loved my grandparents dearly, certainly loved your take.
    🙂

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,548 hits
