Smile, Darn You, Smile


If I can start one smile making,
I shall not live in vain–
A real smile that isn’t faking,
True as lion’s mane;
If I can reveal that silly grin
Or make you laugh again (and again),
I shall not live in vain.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. empressalice
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 23:34:30

    this made me smile 🙂 i love it. thankyou for sharing

    Reply

  2. empressalice
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 01:48:45

    aww thanks its not a problem its just the truth 🙂

    Reply

  3. Yousei Hime
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 08:27:08

    Dickinson is one of my favorites. My favorite quote, and one that strongly influenced my perspective on literature, is in the footer of my blog.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Nov 15, 2011 @ 08:49:05

      She’s incredible, isn’t she? I love that quote! (Though at the same time, I feel that would make poetry necessarily depressing and dark, which I don’t think it has to be.) 🙂

      Reply

      • Yousei Hime
        Nov 15, 2011 @ 13:51:17

        Lol, I confess to liking depressing and dark, but that’s not the only kind of poetry (or any kind of writing, music, art, etc.) that gives me goosebumps. A beautiful, hopeful or otherwise, song will launch me straight into the clouds. Fun visiting here. 🙂

        Reply

        • wordcoaster
          Nov 15, 2011 @ 15:56:13

          Usually poetry that’s depressing and dark captures a truer and more unique outlook. It takes a lot more effort, I think, to write something that is both happy and also meaningful. I’m glad to have you visit and share what you like about poetry, thanks! 🙂

          Reply

  4. puzzle
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 03:16:48

    I love the way, this image comes with these words, combined with a lion’s mane – thank you for the morning smile 🙂

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 488 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,022 hits
