Come on!


With urgent yell we reach synapse
A look before you leap moment
And think of those lost in the gaps
A speedy and painful descent
A thought horribly unpleasant
Instead of jumping take the bridge
And safely reach the other ridge

Photo by Christina Pengyou

Liebster (not to be confused with Leibster) is German & means ‘dearest’ or ‘beloved’ but it can also mean ‘favorite’. (Leibster means body art–a different kind of blog award entirely)  The  idea of the Liebster award is to bring attention to lesser-known blogs.

First, I must thank jaded heart for nominating me–I’m so honored that she’d choose my blog as one of the five.  It is truly wonderful to have readers who support your work 🙂  Check her blog out: she’s got a lot of great stuff there!  As to my five nominations, there are more than five I’d like to nominate, but I chose these ones because not only do I love their blogs, but they are under-appreciated.  It is my privilege to be in the select few who read them, but I want to share that privilege with others–these bloggers are too talented to remain secret!

1.  duncancleary
2.  lexidelphia (sanmartincafe)
3.  Life In Verse
4.  FROM THE DARK
5.  William Leed(talking leaves)

Update: I received a second nomination from the lovely Chicks With Ticks.  They are full of adventures and insights into the wild wild world–plus they are quite funny.

I will highlight one more blog along with the five that I’ve already listed as one that simply must be visited.  If you like haiku or photos or preferably both in the same space, then you MUST visit him.

6.  muzzleflashing

Update #2: I received a third nomination from the wonderful Meenakshi, whose blog addresses an assortment of topics.  She asked eleven questions:

1.      Describe yourself in five words.
clever cluttered chamomile whimsy whirl
2.      What do you admire about yourself and why?
quiet creativity–there’s value in being reserved and saving your insights until they’re formed into something greater
3.      Emotion or logic?
emotion—logic does a fine job of addressing the outer, the visible—emotion touches on the inner.
4.      One thing that you would like to change in yourself.
that I could connect to people more easily.
5.      What is your idea of God?
I believe in the God of the Bible (God the Father, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit—three in one).  He is personal, always there.  He loves me (and loves you).  He is my Savior—and I definitely need saving.
6.      If a genie grants you three wishes, what would you ask for?
I’d wish for a time machine, a teleportation device, and a lifetime supply of ice cream.
7.      If you are given a chance, what would you change about India?
India is an amazing country that I wish I knew more about.  Having never been there, it is difficult to say what I would like to change.  It would be wonderful if there were more opportunities for the poorest of the poor, especially in rural areas.  I think urbanization can bring advantages, but can present huge dangers as well.  Valuing jobs in the rural sector could help I think.  Of course, how to go about bringing up the value of rural jobs or creating rural jobs is an extremely complex issue.
8.      What’s your idea of charity and why?
Charity is the intersection of generosity and love; it is the action that flows out of these two.  Charity is giving with no strings attached.
9.      If you are given a time machine, which time period would you go to and why?
This is hard—I wished for a time machine so I’d be able to visit multiple time periods and scenes.  I guess I would visit the first century to see Jesus’ ministry and the early church in action.
10.  You can’t leave home without…
clothes.  And usually my phone, wallet and glasses.
11.  Something you can’t get enough of…
juice.  Especially peach juice.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jadedheart
    Nov 20, 2011 @ 17:39:06

    You are so welcome! 🙂

    Reply

  2. William Leed
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 22:45:43

    Thank you kindly for your nomination. It truly is a privilege. I have been enjoying so many different blogs. I have nominated the following: http://talkingleaves.wordpress.com/2011/11/03/0264/

    Reply

  3. between silences
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 01:26:17

    Loved this one.. and the rhyme scheme too!
    “And think of those lost in the gaps” goes well with the image 🙂

    I’m Between Silences

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,196 hits
