My Room, Currently


Three walls, one mirror, one window and door,
A bed, desk, sink, closet, chest of drawers,
An antique A/C unit, some carpet, some tile,
A fluorescent light and distinct lack of style.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pengyou
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:16:53

    You are living where I lived senior year! Except two floors down. You will hopefully LOVE your little three-wall room as much as I did. Decorate however the heck you want. Your roommate won’t mind!

    Reply

  2. Pengyou
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:18:58

    Oh and I should also add, people may give themselves the “honorary roommate” title and stop by at crazy hours. Just a warning.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Aug 27, 2012 @ 13:18:45

      Haha, awesome! As soon as I get some sticky-tack I plan to do just that. So far I have only had two people other than myself set foot in my room, so an “honorary roommate” might be a welcome surprise 😛

      Reply

  3. verbalrelapse
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 18:54:53

    I like how simple it is. The poem is really stripped down and that feeling even emphasizes how empty the room is.

    Are you familiar with a rapper by the name of Aesop Rock? He has a song called The Substance and this poem would fit into the first four bars perfectly.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Sep 01, 2012 @ 01:25:06

      Thank you so much–I was really trying to emphasize the spartan nature of the room, so I’m glad you saw that! I have heard of Aesop Rock (for some reason his song delivery usually really bugs me), though hadn’t heard that song. You’re right–this seems to fit almost too perfectly. There really is nothing new under the sun. Well, I shall gladly take the comparison; I can think of a great many lyricists, no… musicians, no… people who sing words who I’d rather not be connected to. Always enjoy when poems can be connected to other artworks–which is why I try to make small connections with the photo/poem combo. But it is a much greater delight when someone else makes a connection. 🙂

      Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 489 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,119 hits
