Poetic Manifesto


I write to light the fire that burns out of control,
I write to fight the dark contagion in my soul,
I write to reach the heights my mouth cannot attain,
I write to teach the thoughts that echo in my brain,
I write to fill the page with humor, truth, and smiling,
I write to spill the rage, the sadness, and reviling,
I write to shift the phrases pointing up above,
I write to lift up praises to the God I love.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alex H.
    Oct 26, 2012 @ 07:59:26

    very nice. I love it 😀 I also love that it’s written in iambic hexameter. There is too much pentameter and not enough hexameter in poetry these days 🙂

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Oct 26, 2012 @ 14:31:53

      Thank you! I do love iambic pentameter, even though it is the most common. Yet I’m not sure why iambic hexameter hasn’t been used more. My guess is that the lines feel almost too full, so poets just broke them into two lines of iambic trimeter. I had to take a break from pentameter as I am currently in Shakespeare’s As You Like It and any more might have made me crazy. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Liz Somerville
    Oct 30, 2012 @ 14:01:59

    I love this.

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 488 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,022 hits
