“Exire et amare”


I spoke to death quite honestly
And this is what he said to me:
“Treasure every memory
And write everything down.”

I told him that my wrists were sore
And that I couldn’t write no more
Of all in life that I adore
And all that begs renown.

He said, “When pen grows hard to bear
And pages like the trees grow bare
As written words grow ever rare,
Then leave the pen and ink

And fit the words with actions snug:
A loving smile, a gentle hug,
A Christmas kiss, Thanksgiving tug
On wishbone: wishful think

Of all the things you’re thankful for;
Announce them loud at kitchen door:
The meal was great, but truly you’re
The one I really love.

I love the way you love us so
And how you always let us know
Your love for us; you let it show,
A beacon from above.

I want to let you know the same
To show my love in such a frame
That you might know its given name
Of “I love you as well.”

I love the way you keep the farm;
I love how you hold Papa’s arm;
I love your wise endearing charm;
I hope that you can tell.”

This is advice that death gave me
And thus he spoke quite winsomely
I wrote it down quite carefully
And then set down my pen.

Photo by Claire Anthony

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tigercity
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 12:43:44

    a beautiful poem, although I’m an atheist it is very warm and human.. and thanks for visiting my blog too!

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Oct 29, 2012 @ 15:34:08

      Thank you! Actually this is one poem that I wasn’t (at least intentionally) overtly spiritual. I wrote it out of gratitude for my grandmother, but I can see how some of the words used would point to God. I guess that’s fitting, as she points to God with her actions. Always glad to visit, and thanks for stopping by as well 🙂

      Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,716 hits
