What’s the Word, Hummingbird?


I am a feeble man;
I faint and stutter
For a bite of bread
And a sip of water–
Every word that comes from the mouth of the Lord.

Stamp them on my heart
And wire them in my brain;
Bind them on my head
And write them on my frame
That I might not sin against You

Light a lamp for my feet
And Lord show me the way;
Give me apples of gold
In silver array,
For Your word never returns empty.

Burn me with Your fire
And break me with Your hammer;
Heaven and earth pass away–
Your words remain forever:
And the Word was with God and the Word was God.

Where else can I go?
Your word is truth,
It’s my sword and shield,
My breath and youth;
I did not run or labor for nothing.

Dwell in me richly,
But handle me gently–
Pleasant words are honeycomb,
Sweet to soul and healing bones:
The Word of God is living and active.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meenakshi
    Nov 12, 2012 @ 00:39:15

    As if you gave a garb of words to my feelings, ‘Word of God is living and active!
    great composition!

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,202 hits
