I Can’t Remember the Joke


Not even the punchline

I miss you terribly for no reason today,
Except
I stubbed my toe on your memory–
Not even a full scene,
Just your smiling eyes flickering
With laughter.

For: dversepoets.com

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. brian miller
    Dec 01, 2012 @ 18:42:25

    I stubbed my toe on your memory…dang what a great way to put that…and not even a full memory but…very cool short…

    Reply

  2. AJ Walker (@ajwalker65)
    Dec 01, 2012 @ 20:25:43

    This was great. Brief but that one image of “stubbing a toe” on a memory! Excellent. The entire poem resonates beautifully.

    Reply

  3. poemsofhateandhope
    Dec 01, 2012 @ 20:48:11

    I think this poem says a lot with great economy of words. Stubbing a toe on a memory – a short sharp shock….maybe the discovery of something, or a reminder, and the laughter – the flickering eyes, to me, shows affection ( although I guess it’s how u choose to read into this).. The affection then makes this very personal. Great poem IMO – thanks for stopping by and sharing

    Reply

  4. Polly Robinson
    Dec 02, 2012 @ 03:42:30

    I love the brevity and the wonderful line ‘I stubbed my toe on your memoryโ€“’
    Dash it, I wish I’d come up with that!

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Dec 03, 2012 @ 00:49:41

      Thank you–I almost didn’t know what to do with the rest of the poem after that line, but I couldn’t seem to have it fit quite right as a closing line, either. Oh well ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

  5. Lรกzaro Rojas
    Dec 02, 2012 @ 03:44:42

    It’s a love/hate relationship stubbing one’s toe on a memory. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  6. David King
    Dec 02, 2012 @ 07:12:29

    I stubbed my toe on your memoryโ€“

    Totally superb! Love this line.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Dec 03, 2012 @ 00:59:07

      Thank you so much! I loved your poem of revisiting a place that holds special memories without the person you shared those memories with. The emptiness is palpable ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

  7. Meenakshi
    Dec 02, 2012 @ 23:59:48

    intense, deep memories, what a way to put it!

    Reply

  8. Hannah Gosselin
    Dec 11, 2012 @ 19:40:23

    Cool. A unique way of stating this. I just love the flickering image of her eyes smiling…intense.

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 489 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,119 hits
