Sacred Alabaster Hope


The Packers and Lucky Charms

He could find shalom in a linoleum floor,
A small intervention for ubiquitous poor,
An act of love, not serendipity–
Holistic healing synchronicity
From marred identity and lack of voice;
The poor restored freely rejoice,
Breaking the silence of oppression,
Waking from slumber of past depression,
Seeing the God of endless affection
Give gifts to His children: grace, peace, and direction.

For: http://withrealtoads.blogspot.ca/

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hannah Gosselin
    Dec 11, 2012 @ 19:07:15

    This flows so smoothly and I love the opening line…so true we can find peace if we’re looking for it. Great poem.

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Dec 11, 2012 @ 19:53:52

    Just beautiful!

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Dec 11, 2012 @ 21:07:15

      Thanks, Mary! I don’t think I’ve ever been a part of imaginary garden with real toads before, but as soon as I saw the prompt I knew I had to πŸ™‚

      Reply

  3. jasmine calyx
    Dec 11, 2012 @ 22:20:13

    Excellent.

    Reply

    • jasmine calyx
      Dec 11, 2012 @ 22:21:40

      And welcome, if you’ve never joined in before. You are a perfect fit. I hope the others will take a look at some of the rest of your poems; you impress me daily.

      Reply

      • wordcoaster
        Dec 11, 2012 @ 22:25:34

        Thank you so much! I feel like I’ve interacted with many of the poets here in other forums and I really love the diversity and talent represented πŸ™‚

        Reply

  4. Sherry Marr
    Dec 11, 2012 @ 22:25:30

    A beautiful write. I especially love its closing lines. “Grace, peace and direction” – great gifts!

    Reply

  5. Susie Clevenger (@wingsobutterfly)
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 02:07:16

    What beautiful gifts in a world that starves on excess…

    Reply

  6. Kerry O'Connor
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 05:14:55

    How wonderful to see these words used to make a statement of solidarity and social conscience.

    Reply

  7. heavenhappens
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 07:12:11

    Grace, peace and direction~what lovely gifts. I have been thinking about what I wish for my new grandchild Stanley~I came up with health and happiness but I like yours better!

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Dec 12, 2012 @ 12:04:51

      Thank you! Grandchildren are gifts in and of themselves, and I hope Stanley has all of those and even more. I still have the baby quilt my grandmother gave me–it’s blue with yellow sailboats. Grandparents are also priceless gifts πŸ™‚

      Reply

  8. De Jackson
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 16:52:39

    wordcoaster, I LOVE this. There’s such a soothing nature to your rhyme, and this line is INCREDIBLE:
    “He could find shalom in a linoleum floor”

    Just a beautiful, touching piece.

    de
    whimsygizmo.wordpress.com

    Reply

  9. Emma at LLM Calling
    Dec 14, 2012 @ 05:17:09

    seeing the god of endless creation – oh yes

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,196 hits
