Epitapht


Taftodil (Hyacinth)

Here lies a man whom four young men
Might easily have fit within,
Yet even four ambitious gents
Could not be chief justice and president.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alice Keys
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 17:52:35

    I’m reading poetry about Lincoln by Carl Sandburg right now. More historical poetry. Great idea. Thanks for offering this today.

    Reply

  2. thebardonthehill
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 22:13:20

    Your different spelling for the title triggered a thought – EpiTaft.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Feb 03, 2013 @ 02:48:29

      You know, I actually debated (for quite some time too) whether to put that as the title, but decided in the end that I wanted the poem to inform the title rather than the other way around. I saw the title as foreshadowing the poem. Perhaps I should be more explicit in my titles, though. Thanks! 🙂

      Reply

  3. meenakshi
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 23:04:08

    I am sorry for lack of understanding, but who is the person in question?

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Feb 03, 2013 @ 02:53:54

      Not a problem–he’s not someone you run across very often. This is written as a mock epitaph for William Howard Taft, the 27th US president. He was a large man who is perhaps most famous for getting stuck in his bathtub. But he also is the only person to serve as both President and Chief Justice of the Supreme Court. Pretty impressive if you ask me. 🙂

      Reply

  4. readinpleasure
    Jan 30, 2013 @ 07:34:24

    WC, I am quite lost, just like Meenakshi. But this is finely written. 🙂

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Feb 03, 2013 @ 02:59:18

      Thanks, RP–I would be extremely impressed (and also ashamed of my own ignorance) if you knew about Taft. I didn’t know about President Mahama until I just looked him up now. What’s a good site to get Ghanaian news?

      Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 489 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,119 hits
