High Coup


Down the Line

Remember when you kissed me?
Sixty years ago:
Memory’s the first to go.

Soft magnetic lips.
“Here’s something to think about”:
You leaned in and said,

For Judith Westerfield whose unique haiku started the ball rolling.  And once it started it just wouldn’t stop.  I told her that her haiku sounded reverse-engineered.  When she asked what in the world that meant, I explained that it seemed to beautifully invert the common order of things.  But then she got me thinking about what a reverse-engineered haiku would look like if it was a form :
“I think perhaps a “reverse-engineered haiku” (if it really WAS a form) would perhaps be three lines of 7-5-7 syllables? Or maybe would be written backwards? Hmm…might have to try one of those out.”

So this is my take on a reverse-engineered haiku.  What’s yours?

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CreativitytotheMax
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 23:19:37

    By george . . . er . . . by david . . . I think you’ve created a brand new genre. (all the traditional haiku’ers may not agree)

    Love them, particularly the first one . . if I remember it correctly.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Feb 05, 2013 @ 02:26:23

      Thanks! 🙂 Haha–it certainly doesn’t have to be a replacement, just a different breed. The 7-5-7 only has two extra syllables, so it still has a minimalist feel to it, if a different flow. I think reverse-engineered haiku might be too long of a name. Perhaps it could be called an “Ankh”. This would show the focus to be on an aspect of life (perhaps much like a senryu) and would also refer to the fact that it’s like a cross-section of a tANKa (5-7-5-7-7) What do you think?

      Reply

  2. CreativitytotheMax
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 23:21:12

    P.S. “HIGH COUP”! – (I just did a double take!) PERFECT! PERFECT! PERFECT!

    Reply

  3. Meenakshi Malhotra
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 04:05:13

    The first one is great! may be I will try this too.

    Reply

  4. readinpleasure
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 14:14:19

    Simply wonderful, WC. The idea is intriguing and I could try my hands too 🙂

    Reply

  5. Alice Keys
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 22:56:20

    I very much like your pair. Lovely. The orderly disorder of timefurthers the narrative in each.

    Don’t ask for haiku unless you want it… 🙂 Both are “real life” haiku.
    * * * * * * * * * * * * *
    “Dessert ?” the kids ask.
    “We haven’t had breakfast yet.”
    “It is dinner time?”

    * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

    Time for a diet.
    “Your butt looks fine to me, dear.”
    How do these pants look?

    * * * * * * * * * * * * *

    Reverse engineered haiku? I wrote these two inside out. They can be read up or down or in a continuous time loop. The syllable count is the regular 5-7-5.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Feb 06, 2013 @ 01:18:21

      Thanks! And I definitely wanted responses, so thanks for trying it out–these are great! Especially love the second one, haha. Not sure if there’s ever been a right answer to those types of questions. Man, these really do lend themselves to a mobius-style reading. Did I mention I love them? 😀

      Reply

  6. CreativitytotheMax
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 00:02:59

    Whoa! I’m intimidated that Alice is upping the ante with her High Coup butt they look fine to me.

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,205 hits
