Reading Rainbow


Ask me how much I love a book and I will point to the pages:
Ink-dipped and sweating
Drops of gold, fluorescent hues–
My own views
In the margins,
Contradicting and confirming,
Conversing
With the author:
Reactionary statements,
Words defined and underlined,
Ripples through the beige–
Memories for the ages.

Tea, yes Scissors, no

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Poetry and Icecream
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 21:21:56

    Yes a good book is like a good friend. Nicely done πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Feb 24, 2013 @ 20:19:51

      Thanks P&I! I think too, like any friendship in order to keep it going it needs to be revisited and maintained. The best books are worth this rereading πŸ™‚

      Reply

  2. Alice Keys
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 21:51:33

    Oh no. You write on books? Books are holy. πŸ˜‰ Nice one.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Feb 25, 2013 @ 03:10:08

      I write on walls, too–I must be a rebel. πŸ™‚

      Reply

      • Alice Keys
        Feb 25, 2013 @ 12:58:56

        Walls? Okay. But writing in books??? I could never bring myself to highlight, even text books.

        I grew up chronically book deficient. No library access till the high school library. Just once a month bookmobile stop whose hours only worked for me during summer vacation. And grandma’s old Reader’s digest condensed books. Like cheap canned soup for a bookworm’s soul. I’ve had to wean myself away from hording books. The move toward ebooks frightens me deep in my soul.

        Reply

        • wordcoaster
          Feb 25, 2013 @ 19:24:06

          I must say it took years to warm to the idea that books could be not only read, but interacted with–and that pressure came from a teacher of all places–but once I started highlighting and annotating I never looked back. Still, i tried to show restraint–only highlighting passages that I ABSOLUTELY loved or were key insights into a question. And I never, EVER, doggie-eared the pages. I can’t really imagine my childhood without books. We took weekly trips to the library with this massive leather tote bag that we filled. My mom would give us a time limit so that we wouldn’t check out too many books and we had to carry all the ones that couldn’t fit in the bag. I remember struggling with stacks piled up to my chin (or if I was really daring, in front of my face). Wish i was as avid a reader today as I was then. And yes, I am deeply suspicious of ebooks. I will never own a kindle of my own free will πŸ™‚

          Reply

  3. Meenakshi Malhotra
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 02:26:28

    This is exactly how I read books, that is why I have to own a copy, borrowed one cannot help.

    Reply

  4. AJ
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 11:45:03

    Awesome poem… what character there is in a well read book! It can often times tell you as much about the reader as the writer! Reading a used book that someone else has gone through is a fascinating experience. It feels very personal. Great topic. Great poem.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Feb 26, 2013 @ 01:20:47

      Thanks so much! Yes, I agree–I enjoy reading a used book perhaps even more than a new one because it feels almost like a diary sometimes. You can tell what the reader loved/hated, their questions, their feelings; you can really get to know them in a very nonstandard way. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  5. Reading Pleasure
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 12:29:51

    Nicely done πŸ™‚

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,690 hits
