Free! Free! Free!


Like birds that sing in poplar tree,
Some things are better when they’re free.

My Try Poetry Giveaway

Artwork by Susan Rich

I’m so excited to announce that I’m participating in The Big Poetry Giveaway 2013!  April is National Poetry Month, so in celebration many poets are giving away their works as well as those of their favorite poet influences.  Check out The Alchemist’s Kitchen to find more chances at winning great poetry!
As far as my giveaway goes, here’s how it works:

UPDATE: THE CONTEST IS OVER

Here are the winners:
chapbook:  oneofaclass CLAIMED
Edna St. Vincent Millay poems: knowledgeknut CLAIMED
Mystery Prize: thebookbutler CLAIMED

For everyone else–I love you all dearly and wish I could give prizes to everyone.  But you should know that I intend to have more give-aways in the future, so don’t give up hope!

70 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alice Keys
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 19:47:35

    You are a generous guy. Thanks for this great idea.

    Reply

  2. pengyou
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 04:30:08

    People In Glass Houses!

    Reply

  3. Russ L
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 08:34:46

    Hey guy!
    Great idea, especially for paying it forward!

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Mar 31, 2013 @ 10:33:54

      Thanks! Make sure to check out the other giveaways at The Alchemist’s Kitchen; most of them are published poets giving away their published works and there are so many chances to win great poetry collections! 🙂

      Reply

  4. Stephanie Davies
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 19:50:09

    Please count me in!

    Reply

  5. Rodney Wilder Jr.
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 02:25:16

    Sounds like a nice treasure trove of poetry. Count me in. ^_^

    Reply

  6. Trackback: To the point | wordcoaster
  7. Trackback: Gentlemen Prefer Moths | wordcoaster
  8. Janice
    Apr 02, 2013 @ 20:33:08

    What a great way to celebrate Poetry Month.

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Will it last the night? (Fig Jam) | wordcoaster
  10. Jennifer
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 11:35:21

    my favorite poem is from Peter Richards _Helsinki_, but they aren’t titled.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Apr 03, 2013 @ 12:43:37

      I hadn’t heard of him, but I looked up a review of his poems and from the selections given he seems amazing; I immediately requested Helsinki through inter-library loan. Thanks! 😀

      Reply

  11. Trackback: Dark Wings | wordcoaster
  12. Trackback: retsaE | wordcoaster
  13. Trackback: Hard to swallow | wordcoaster
  14. Diane Kendig
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 10:16:33

    One Millay poem? At least two, please: “Dirge without Music” and “Recuerdo.” And the haiku challenge sounds great. But I am challenged-out this month. You go!

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Apr 06, 2013 @ 12:16:06

      Both of those are wonderful–I especially love “Dirge without Music”. Yes, there are an abundance of challenges this month, so I can definitely understand that. Thanks for entering 🙂

      Reply

  15. Dan R.
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 22:24:09

    Hope its not too late to enter. I need to learn me some poetry.

    Reply

  16. Trackback: Firework Horses | wordcoaster
  17. Trackback: First they champ | wordcoaster
  18. Allyson
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 00:06:11

    Nice to meet you! Please add me to the drawing!

    Reply

  19. thebookbutler
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 17:41:42

    I’m in! 🙂 At the risk of sounding like a copy-cat, I also love “Dirge Without Music.” I read it in a book called Baby, by Patricia Maclachlan and loved both the book and the poem. After a brief Google search, I would also like to submit “Euclid Alone Has Looked on Beauty Bare.” 🙂

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Apr 09, 2013 @ 18:30:15

      Wonderful–there’s no harm in liking the same poem; it just shows how wonderful that poem is. Loved “Euclid” as well; I’ll have to look up the Maclachlan book 🙂

      Reply

  20. Trackback: Alice’s Observation | wordcoaster
  21. Trackback: Dorsey’s Jasmine | wordcoaster
  22. Alexandra Williams
    Apr 12, 2013 @ 00:18:27

    Happy Poetry Month and please include my name in your draw!
    The Mystery Prize sounds like a great idea.
    Also if you would like to check out my work… I have scribbled a couple of haiku amongst a range of styles for my poetry muse for YEARS, most recently posting on facebook ‘Alexandra J Cornwell – Poet’. Last September I discovered the fun of ‘drabbles’ (100-word microfiction ‘Byron Short Fiction ‘Drabble’ Writers’), although I am finding much inspiration in non-fiction historical and current affairs topics. I suppose it has been my way of blogging, though am inspired by looking through this great range of poetry blogs to getting my own happening and also get on with getting organized to publish some of my scribbles properly. Hopefully in time to ‘play it forward’ next year!
    – Alexandra

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Apr 12, 2013 @ 09:33:42

      I’ve added your name to the pot! I love that you take your poetry from all different sources of inspiration; it makes for greater variety and often better poetry. 🙂

      Reply

  23. Trackback: Lily of the Valley | wordcoaster
  24. Trackback: I’ve Pollen… and I Can’t Get Up | wordcoaster
  25. Andrew Albert J. Ty
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 01:03:29

    Please count me in, and thanks! For Edna St Vincent Millay: “Renascence” is what I like best. I’ll be looking through your blog and reading your poems.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Apr 16, 2013 @ 23:57:40

      Definitely! And yes, “Renascence” was my introduction to Millay and it was love at first read, so I definitely approve of your choice, thanks! 🙂

      Reply

  26. knowledgeknut
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 05:51:39

    I have not had the chance to read any contemporary poetry. I don’t know who or where to begin. Entering this contest seemed like a good way to start. Thank you very much for participating in this give away.

    KnowledgeKnut
    Knowledgeknut@gmail.com

    Millay – Renascence
    Mine: http://wp.me/p2zGQ7-1gO

    Reply

  27. Trackback: I See You | wordcoaster
  28. Trackback: Destiny’s Bastard | wordcoaster
  29. Trackback: Cooking with Words | wordcoaster
  30. Ron Lewis
    Apr 20, 2013 @ 16:31:23

    Susan: Please enter me as many times as you dare into your poetry contest!

    Rich: The 4 “O” Clock News @ House of Sky
    Millay: Alms
    Billy Collins: Flames

    Thank you so much! Ron

    Reply

  31. Trackback: Down South Sprang | wordcoaster
  32. Trackback: Spicy | wordcoaster
  33. Trackback: Garden Party Politics | wordcoaster
  34. Trackback: Yeah Science! | wordcoaster
  35. oneofaclass
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 23:17:50

    OK, I’ve managed to drag my feet so far. Count me in!

    Reply

  36. Trackback: Perspective Precipitation | wordcoaster
  37. Trackback: I Can’t Be Graduating, I’m Still | wordcoaster
  38. dairyairhead
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 00:01:14

    Cool! Can’t hate free things! One of my favorite poems in general is “Do not stand at my grave and weep” by Mary Elizabeth Frye

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Apr 30, 2013 @ 00:12:37

      Awesome! Glad to add you to the runnings. I’m always up for some free things, myself 🙂 And that is a fantastic poem–and bonus points for picking a Baltimorian poet!

      Reply

  39. thebardonthehill
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 08:17:24

    One of ESVM’s poems that I like is Autumn Daybreak.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:58:08

      Phew! Dropping in at the last minute! Glad to have you in, Dennis. And that poem is wonderful–and rare in the way it shows autumn can reveal beauty that summer cannot. 🙂

      Reply

      • thebardonthehill
        Apr 30, 2013 @ 20:12:52

        Yes, that last line is a wonderful summary/closing line of that thought so that what’s revealed is “The hill all summer hid from me.”

        Reply

        • wordcoaster
          Apr 30, 2013 @ 21:01:53

          Yeah, it’s so great–shows her unique insight as she takes what could be a depressing sight of trees dropping their leaves and becoming bare and celebrates the opportunities they afford instead of wonderful views 🙂

          Reply

  40. Trackback: Conventional | wordcoaster
  41. Katie Jenkins
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 22:47:46

    I love most all of Ogden Nash’s work, but I admit to a special appreciation of his poem “Always Marry an April Girl,” http://www.poemhunter.com/poem/always-marry-an-april-girl/ …if only because of my own birth date. 😀

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      May 01, 2013 @ 00:30:15

      Ogden Nash is a definite favorite of mine–his brain was full of finery; it was incredible designery. I’ll have to send my friend that poem; he married an April. 🙂

      Reply

  42. Jordan Linkston
    May 01, 2013 @ 01:08:22

    I want your poetry books. Fo Sho.

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 489 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,125 hits
