Will it last the night? (Fig Jam)


There’s a lovely light–
My candle burns at both ends
–There’s a lovely light.

For: http://haiku-heights.blogspot.com/

http://withrealtoads.blogspot.ca/2013/04/kerrys-wednesday-challenge.html

Foes and friends, if you like free books (especially Edna St. Vincent Millay) then enter to win!

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. readinpleasure
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 12:56:08

    Beautiful wordplay

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Apr 03, 2013 @ 16:09:46

      Thanks! I can’t really take credit for any if them, though. I just condensed Millay’s “First Fig” into haiku form–hence why I called it Fig Jam. Enjoyed your burning words as well πŸ™‚

      Reply

  2. Sabio Lantz
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 17:42:29

    ah, best to go out with a bang! There is light. Nice. (this is for Real Toads too, eh? — sort of Existential …)

    Reply

  3. Kay Davies
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 19:11:08

    I think sort of existential is about as existential as anyone gets!
    K

    Reply

  4. Audrey Howitt
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 19:44:08

    Lovely piece—and yes, about as existential as one can get!

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Apr 03, 2013 @ 21:59:29

      Thanks! Haha, I never thought I’d take my poetry as being existential as a compliment. I hope most of my other poems are a bit more grounded. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  5. Alice Keys
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 20:17:26

    Candle burning at both ends? Slow down.;-) Good one. Alice

    Reply

  6. Susie Clevenger (@wingsobutterfly)
    Apr 04, 2013 @ 00:22:16

    How wonderful that beautiful light can come from a candle burning at both ends.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Apr 04, 2013 @ 01:14:32

      Yes–there’s beauty in so many things if only observed more closely. Tonight the dreary rain outside made the city lights sparkle in the distance. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  7. Kerry O'Connor
    Apr 04, 2013 @ 03:02:26

    I take the idiom, burning a candle at both ends, to mean one is working too hard or over-extending oneself. I suspect your meaning is slightly different here.

    (I apologize for the previous comment – it appears I am logged in under my daughter’s name and I can’t delete it)

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Apr 04, 2013 @ 11:27:59

      I deleted the double comment. I like the open-endedness (pardon the pun) of the idiom, as it leaves itself free to multiple interpretations. I think I was intending to highlight the beauty that often accompanies working too hard; the light is unsustainable, but it is beautiful while it lasts. But it also is an outlook on life, seeing light at both ends of the tunnel. I guess it’s not existential if you view the future light positively, but I’ve never been much of an existential, myself πŸ™‚

      Reply

  8. oneofaclass
    Apr 04, 2013 @ 04:08:54

    What happens when both flames meet?

    Reply

  9. pattykinney
    Apr 04, 2013 @ 11:57:31

    Found you on Susan Rich’s blog. Looking forward to following. Happy National Poetry Month.

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Apr 04, 2013 @ 16:51:38

      Glad to be found–Susan Rich’s blog is such a great launch spot for checking out other poets. Hope you’re enjoying this month as much as I am! πŸ™‚

      Reply

  10. David King
    Apr 04, 2013 @ 13:29:37

    This is delightful!

    Reply

  11. jinksy
    Apr 05, 2013 @ 14:28:02

    I love Edna St Vincent Millay, too!

    Reply

  12. margaretbednar
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 22:17:45

    A lovely light… but I only want a candle that burns at one end. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 488 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,013 hits
