Jingle in My Pockets


At the end of the day, what’s left?
Fifty-something or fifty-nothing
Or somewhere in-between?
Trade in your daughters:
Their first words and favorite bedtime stories;
Cash in your sons:
Their bike rides and fishing trips;
Lose the name of your neighbor,
Your doctor, your uncle,
Your best friend of thirty-five years,
At the end of the day, what’s left?
“800-588-2300 EMPIRE today.”

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alice Keys
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 13:36:09

    I feel the sadness of human loss in this. Nicely done. One thing, thought. I don’t understand the “800 number reference at the end. I’m out of circulation over here.
    Alice

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Aug 05, 2013 @ 17:59:17

      This is actually about memory loss (which involves human loss and sadness, of course), and how it’s so frustrating that you forget all of these important things while remembering dumb things like jingles for advertisements. The last line is simply a jingle (consider yourself lucky you don’t know it) that I’m sure I’ll remember when I’m old–I also like that it ends with “today.”–memory loss tends to make everything much more about the present. 🙂

      Reply

      • Alice Keys
        Aug 07, 2013 @ 11:52:27

        WC Yes. Memory loss is the scariest of losses to me. No. I didn’t know the jingle. Thanks.:-)

        Reply

        • wordcoaster
          Aug 07, 2013 @ 14:49:12

          Yeah, I’m pretty terrified of it–especially since my memory is already bad. :/

          Reply

          • Alice Keys
            Aug 07, 2013 @ 16:15:39

            What? Oh yeah. Mine, too. 😉

            (Somethings I just gotta joke about.)

            Try learning a new language on an old brain. Not so easy.

            Reply

            • wordcoaster
              Aug 11, 2013 @ 17:56:11

              Haha, yeah…language is not something you can just pick up when you’re older. 🙂

            • Alice Keys
              Aug 12, 2013 @ 13:21:09

              But We’re working on it every day. It’s gotta happen. 🙂

            • wordcoaster
              Aug 12, 2013 @ 13:39:56

              If you ever get frustrated, just listen to Flight of the Conchords’ “Foux Du Fafa”. 🙂

            • Alice Keys
              Aug 13, 2013 @ 12:48:23

              Thanks! An ordinary trip to the bank to deposit a check today was exhausting. I made the mistake of asking a couple of questions about bank fees. I even worked out the words ahead of time.

              The regulars were all away on vacation (it’s August).

              “You’re the Americans!” and “You asked my colleague for car insurance.” Really. I’m not making this up.

              We ended up with a long talk with the substitute branch manager in her office.

              We were overwhelmed. We had to go have cups of coffee and come back later to make the deposit. Then the bank was closed for lunch. So we went home and had lunch and walked back downtown to deposit the check.

              This still required an intervention from the substitute branch manager. I was depositing dollars and my deposit slip only has a line for euros.

              Thanks. I watched the video six times. I laughed a lot. My kids laughed. Of course, my husband had seen it long ago.:-))

              Really.Men do wear pink shirts with a sweater tied around the shoulders by the arms. I tried to buy pink polo shirts for my guys before we flew over but they didn’t believe me. They still won’t go for it.

              Alice

            • wordcoaster
              Aug 14, 2013 @ 15:06:05

              Oh goodness–that sounds exhausting just reading about it! Glad to bring a little laughter to your day, though I’m sure you bring quite a bit of that yourself 🙂
              I cannot believe some of the things people wear–then again, I can’t believe some of the things I wear, so…

            • Alice Keys
              Aug 16, 2013 @ 11:54:59

              😉

  2. viewingcamelot
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 21:31:22

    I just love this one. Every time I read the ending, I hear it in tune.

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,548 hits
