Stir Up


Baby let’s drive into town
I wanna settle down
You can wear your new evening gown
I wanna settle down
We’ll stop in at Café Mantee
Won’t you settle down with me?
Shut up!  You’re starting to make me angry.
Settle down We can settle at a table
Oh so now you want to go?
A table for two
That’s the only kind I know
Won’t you wine and dine with me?
Hell, I could use a drink.
Settle down
Well, give me time to think

Ok, I’ve thought it over
I wanna raise a child
Now I wish I wasn’t sober
I wanna raise a child
I don’t think you realize that I’m not remotely ready
Won’t you raise a child with me?
It’s been, what?  Four months?  Since we started going steady?
Raise a child

We’ll call her Nebraska
She’d never live through middle school
Nebraska Jones
You know kids can be very cruel
She’ll have your nose
A prominent pimply one?
Just so you know
Oh, was that supposed to be a pun?

Let’s just go to dinner
I wanna settle down
I think I’m getting thinner
I wanna settle down
Are you even slightly hungry?
Won’t you settle down with me?
I’m starving!  Is that so hard to see?!
Settle down

Run from Angela Vickers
Oh, I knew there had to be some explanation
I saw her with you
Just like you saw her on our vacation?
Monday morning small talking on the avenue
We were discussing the new hiring policy
She’s got a fancy car
She drives a Mitsubishi…
She wants to take you far
I hope so; she is my boss, after all.
From the city lights and sounds deep into the dark
Like reasoning with a brick wall.

Would you rather go to a bar?
Star so light and star so bright
Twinkle twinkle little star
First star I see tonight!
Up above the world so high
Star so light and star so bright
Like a diamond in the sky
Keep him by my side!

Ok, now that we’re both done let’s go
I wanna settle down
You want to start another row?
I wanna settle down
Maybe I’ll just eat alone
Baby there’s no need to run
This isn’t fun; you’re like a stone.
I’ll love you well

Well you love ill
I wanna settle down
I bet you will
It’s time to bring you down
You’ve already killed the mood
On just one knee for now
Now you’re just being rude
Let’s make our vows

Star so light and star so bright
ABCDEFG
First star I see tonight!
HIJKLMNOP
Star so light and star so bright
QRSTUV
Keep him by my side!
Here’s how annoying I can be!

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 487 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,205 hits
