boom boom boom


Silence fell like an empty drum
banging echoes down the hall
to Please the cat and I and mum
(though she Cannot Hear at all)
Myself, my ears work well as ink
(that’s pretty well now, don’t you Think?)

The form (not the content–that was inspired by sitting in a loud room while trying to write a poem) was inspired by this awesome post by Morgan.
A third of the way through the poem, I realized I was reading it wrong.   I kept looking for hidden messages, though there were none to be found.
It turns out that Random capitalizations Are something That Might just trigger My OcD.  I Found the Poem she Wrote to Be Beautiful, but It was Hard for my Mind to Take In the information when It was coming with Varied capitalization Signals.  Capitalization, in my mind, signals importance.  Thus when a line is quite full of importance I can be overwhelmed.  If Every Word Was Capitalized Then My Brain Would Automatically Re-assign Some New Signal For Importance, Like If A Word Appeared In Bold.

None of this is meant as criticism of Morgan’s style or the poem.  I enjoy both.  I merely found it fascinating that something so small as an occasional upper-cased letter could radically impact the way my mind reacts to the poem.

Question for the reader: what, if anything, impacts the way you react to a poem?  Is it the layout, the font, whether it’s read aloud?  Perhaps it’s many things?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Morgan
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 20:44:07

    thank you for your kind inspiration. As a note to perchance help your understanding a bit more with my propensity for Capitalization. I tend to use a Capital letter for words that I feel are Important…Significant to the poem or post…or Positive in their energy. Its something I’ve done since high school and it used to drive my English Teacher crazy ( so you are not alone 😉 )
    I hope this helps 😉
    Blessings and Joy~

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Jan 13, 2014 @ 23:06:56

      You’re quite welcome! Your capitalization made total sense in the poem–I should have made clear in my post that it wasn’t just random words being capitalized. (Although, my hope was that readers would have to click on your poem to see for themselves, so I didn’t want to give TOO much away).
      Your English teacher and I would probably get along 😉
      ~Grace and Peace

      Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 488 other followers

Because Russ L asked

  • 31,016 hits
