Lament


Oh God, my God, I sit in abject fear
Of what my future holds and how and why.
Is China just a dream to be remembered
Fondly once before I sigh and die?

I cannot bear the burden of these waters–
Their sameness as I tread and tread and tread.
Can you not see I’m sore and nearly drowning?
Is this to be my final water bed?

Look, look upon the one you call beloved;
Act fast before I sink beneath the waves.
You are Jehovah-Jireh, my provider–
Oh Jesus, Jesus, Jesus, oh “He saves!”

I see how you have moved within the waiting
When I had left the mount of Covenant.
I seek the hope of life for Lazarus;
May I return a living revenant.

Oh faithful God from age to age the same,
My trusting soul can cry out, “It is well!”
For you are not a stranger to my sorrow,
But here, right here, with me: Immanuel.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. viewingcamelot
    Aug 14, 2021 @ 20:58:53

    ❤ Beautiful. Vulnerable. Honest. ❤

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 489 other subscribers

Because Russ L asked

  • 36,597 hits