A haiku wrapped in a tanka inside a limerick


Two kids who were studying history
About Okubo “champ” Toshimichi
Found his varying ties
To ye old samurais
To be more than a bit of a mystery

 

For http://purpletreehouse.blogspot.com/2011/09/poetic-forms-wk-3-limerick-sept-21.html

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. johnlmalone
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 04:17:25

    I’m sorry: I don’t get it. I wanted to but I didn’t 😦

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Oct 04, 2011 @ 04:26:00

      That’s ok! This one was actually written to help me study for an upcoming history exam, not for pure poetic purposes. Thus it’s one that’s hard to “get” (which explains the title) I hope you’ll read one of my less cryptic poems; I actually have a few of those 🙂

      Reply

  2. Morning
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 08:08:02

    love it, very fun verse.

    🙂

    Reply

    • wordcoaster
      Oct 05, 2011 @ 10:45:59

      Thanks! My approach to studying for the history test I have today, in addition to reading over my notes and trying desperately to glean the important information, is to write lots of short poems about different important people and events in hopes that I’ll remember them for the test.

      Reply

  3. The Cello Strings
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 22:38:08

    love it.

    a case well made.

    🙂

    Reply

Questions? Comments? Criticisms?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 489 other subscribers

Because Russ L asked

  • 36,598 hits