Father to Son

Photo by Sweetestsin2862

So this is life, this is the cycle, this is the cycle of life.
Grandfather to father to son to grandson
Can you hear?
Do you know my thoughts?
I was once you, with father hovering over me
Hopes
Futures shared
Past forgotten
You’ll never know my grandfather; I’ll never know your grandson
But the cycle, the life cycle goes on
So sleep and I will watch
I will watch over you closely
Like a figure ghostly
Father figure mostly
Not father of the year
Just another father here
Hearing you sleep
Sleeping son
Sleeps on
So this is life, this is the cycle, this is the cycle of life

For http://bluebellbooks.blogspot.com/2011/10/short-story-slam-week-12.html

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 489 other subscribers

Because Russ L asked

  • 36,598 hits